All vehicle registration is handled by the University Police Office.
All questions regarding vehicle registration and parking should be directed to Stephanie Battisti at the University Police Office.
I. VEHICLE REGISTRATION
II. MOTORCYCLE REGISTRATION
III. VETERANS PARKING POLICY AND PROCEDURES
Any veteran, as defined in section 360 of the New York State Education Law, in attendance as a student at SUNY Cobleskill shall be exempt from parking fees upon submission by the veteran of a written request for exemption together with written certification by the veteran that such veteran was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from such service. This policy shall cover both the parking and registration fees that are assessed on an annual basis and must be requested on an annual basis. The policy only allows veterans to receive the exemption and does not allow them to extend it to family members and this policy applies to students only.
*For purposes of this Policy, the term "veteran" shall mean a member of the armed forces of the United States who served in such armed forces in time of war and who was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from such service.
IV. PARKING ASSIGNMENT
Resident students must park only in areas which are assigned as follows:
Residents of Alumni Commons must park in the A Lot.
Residents of Wieting and Vroman Halls must park in the west side of W Lot - Commuter Lot.
Residents of Davis and Parsons Halls must park in P Lot.
Residents of Pearson, Dix, Ten Eyck, Draper and Fake Halls must park in the Student Side of F Lot.
If/when your assigned lot is full, you must park in the P Lot.
Commuter students must park in the C Lot - Commuter Lot. Between 5 pm to 3 am however, vehicles with a "C" permits may park in any visitor or faculty/staff parking area (except the area reserved for admissions visitors).
Faculty and Staff may park in any parking space, except those specifically reserved.
Temporarily disabled students may be issued a special two week only parking permit that allows parking in any legal parking area (except spaces reserved for the disabled as described below). Special permits are issued at the University Police Department and require a physician's certification.
In accordance with State Law, disabled parking spaces are reserved for vehicles displaying either disabled license plates, or a New York State Department of Motor Vehicles approved hang tag issued by a municipality.
V. TRAFFIC & PARKING REGULATIONS
Laws in Effect. The Vehicle and Traffic Laws of the State of New York and the State University of New York traffic ordinances are in effect on University property.
Speed Limit. The speed limit on campus property is 20 mph, unless otherwise posted.
Accidents. Motor vehicle accidents on University property must be reported to the SUNY Cobleskill University Police Department, phone number 5317.
There is no parking at any time on campus roadways.
Parking anywhere on the grass is prohibited.
Vehicles must park between painted lines.
VI. FINES & PENALTIES
The person in whose name a vehicle is registered with the University is responsible for all traffic violations and is liable for all fines or disciplinary actions.
Fines: $15 for first violation; $20 for second; $25 for all subsequent violations. All disabled violations are $50.
Violations should be paid at the University Police Station within ten (10) business days of issuance or you can pay online at https://www.permitsales.net/SUNYcobleskill. Violations remaining unpaid will result in a hold on your student account. Also failure to pay all violations may result in the revocation of your on campus parking privileges and refereal ot the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles for further action.
Vehicles parked in tow-away zones, disabled zones, or parked inappropriately as determined by the University Police, may be towed at the owner's expense.
Vehicles that have been issued five violations are subject to being towed for any and all additional violations.
Parking violation appeals may be made online within ten business days from the date of issuance. After the 10 day period, the right to appeal expires and all violation charges and/or expenses incurred become automatically due and payable. The website to submit an appeal is https://www.permitsales.net/SUNYcobleskill.
Vehicle and Traffic Law Regulations are in effect at all times.
Buckle up - It's the law.
Stop D.W.I. - Friends don't let friends drive drunk.
Report all suspicious persons or vehicles seen around parking areas to University Police.
Keep your vehicle locked with the windows rolled up tight.
Always keep a spare set of keys inside your wallet or purse, not inside your vehicle where a thief can find them.
The college assumes no responsibility for the vehicles, its contents or for any situation resulting from bringing and operating the vehicle on campus. This includes any damage caused by towing a vehicle.