Spring 2023 Plan // Apply // HEERF // Careers at Cobleskill

LPP In Action

2016 Annual LPP Youth Conference

Nearly 70 middle through high school students from the seven districts in the SUNY Cobleskill LPP participated in an annual LPP Youth Conference on the SUNY Cobleskill campus on March 23, 2016. This year's theme had to do with empowering youth to become engaged in their own education through the power of their own voice and their ability to make good choices. Students were treated to an amazing, touching, and motivating keynote by Carlos Ojeda, Jr., founder/owner of CoolSpeak: The Youth Engagement Company, out of Pottstown, Pennsylvania. Mr. Ojeda's personal story of perseverance and, ultimately, life success in the face of nearly insurmountable barriers was inspiring. Students then attended workshops put on by CoolSpeak and the Schoharie County Youth Bureau, all meant to help students define and reach college and life goals, increase self-awareness, develop leadership skills, embrace their uniqueness, and recognize their self-worth. As a daily reminder to follow their dreams, students received a wristband with these words of encouragement, "Success occurs when your dreams are bigger than your excuses. You can sleep with your dreams…or wake up and chase them." Wristbands were provided by Rapid Wristbands.

Click any image to view larger.


2014 Marathon for a Better Life

On Saturday, June 7, 2014, members of the SUNY Cobleskill LPP participated in the annual Marathon for a Better Life to raise funds for Schoharie County residents fighting cancer. Two LPP teams raised nearly $450 and walked during this 12-hour-long event. Team 1, sponsored by Aidone Eye Care, was made up of Cobleskill-Richmondville High School students: Alonzo O'Dell, Michelle Jordan, Angela Easley, David Jackson, and LPP Tutor/Mentor Tom Elliott. Team 2, sponsored by R. Sherwood Veith, CPA, was made up of members of the LPP Youth Leadership Council: Tarynna Fitzpatrick, Nikki Peckham, Anna Sager, Nate Shuart, Savannah Bell, Chas Decker, LPP Program Coordinator Shivaun Schulte, and LPP Project Director Deborah Veith.

Click any image to view larger. 


2014 LPP Bowl-a-Thon

On May 17, 2014, members of the LPP After-School Club of the Cobleskill-Richmondville High School raised $302 during a Bowl-A-Thon at the Best Western Lanes to benefit the Marathon for a Better Life. Participants in the Bowl-A-Thon: Alonzo O'Dell, Charles Thompson, Dan Thompson, Michelle Jordan, and Nathaniel Shuart.

Click any image to view larger.


Animal Shelter Benefit

In the fall of 2013 while undertaking a service-learning project, LPP students held a bake sale at the Cobleskill Stewart's to raise funds for the Schoharie Valley Animal Shelter, raising $136.00. On June 10, 2014, students toured the new Animal Shelter facility and learned about the animals at the shelter, how the shelter cares for the animals it takes in, and what people can do to help out. Students also walked a dog, pet a lot of kittens, and presented the check. The students involved in this venture are members of the LPP After-School Club in the Cobleskill-Richmondville High School (Alonzo O'Dell, Aimee Oathout, Michelle Jordan, James Myers, Ashley Oliver, Kaylie-Ann Ward, and Dan Thompson).

Click any image to view larger.


2014 Youth in Government Advocacy Day

On February 11, 2014, sixteen SUNY Cobleskill LPP students joined other LPP students from across the State to participate in the NYS Student Alliance Advocacy Day in an effort to remind legislators of the importance of student aid and opportunity programs, such as the Liberty Partnerships Program. Our students met with Senator James Seward and Assemblyman Peter Lopez to discuss the importance of the Liberty Partnerships Program in their lives and the impact it has had on their academic and social growth. Participants by school district - Cobleskill–Richmondville CSD: Harmony Cole, Jaykob Roe, Thaddeus Sager, Anna Sager, Nathaniel Shuart. Jefferson CSD: Alexis Helmer, Kaylyn Helmer, Michael Greiner, Nick Scarpellini, James Musella, Ian Heney, Evan Fyfe, Nick Fyfe, Cory Wyble. Sharon Springs CSD: Tarynna Fitzpatrick, Nikki Peckham.

Click any image to view larger.